Home Local & Regional News Only Three Weeks Left to Apply for SBA Disaster Loans

Only Three Weeks Left to Apply for SBA Disaster Loans


The U. S. Small Business Administration on Tuesday reminded small, nonfarm businesses in 39 California counties, including Lassen, Modoc and Plumas, and neighboring counties in Nevada and Oregon that they have until September 23rd, 2014, to apply for an Economic Injury Disaster Loan. These loans are to offset economic losses because of reduced revenues caused by the drought that began on January 14th of this year announced Tanya N. Garfield, Director of SBA’s Western Disaster Field Operations Center.

“SBA eligibility covers both the economic impacts on businesses dependent on farmers and ranchers that have suffered agricultural production losses caused by the disaster and businesses directly impacted by the disaster,” Garfield said.

Small, nonfarm businesses, small agricultural cooperatives, small businesses engaged in aquaculture and most private, nonprofit organizations of any size may qualify for Economic Injury Disaster Loans of up to $2 million to help meet financial obligations and operating expenses which could have been met had the disaster not occurred.

“Eligibility for these loans is based on the financial impact of the disaster only and not on any actual property damage. These loans have an interest rate of 4% for businesses and 2.625% for private, nonprofit organizations, a maximum term of 30 years, and are available to small businesses and most private, nonprofits without the financial ability to offset the adverse impact without hardship,” Garfield said.

Businesses primarily engaged in farming or ranching are not eligible for SBA disaster assistance. Agricultural enterprises should contact the Farm Services Agency about the U. S. Department of Agriculture assistance made available by the Secretary’s declaration. However, in drought disasters nurseries are eligible for SBA disaster assistance.

Applicants may apply online using the Electronic Loan Application via SBA’s secure Web site at https://disasterloan.sba.gov/ela.

For owners of these impacted small businesses, disaster loan information and application forms are also available from SBA’s Customer Service Center by calling toll-free at (800) 659-2955 or e-mailing disastercustomerservice@sba.gov. Individuals who are deaf or hard of hearing may call (800) 877-8339. For more information about SBA’s disaster assistance programs, visit http://www.sba.gov/disaster.

The deadline to apply for these loans is September 23rd, 2014.

Primary California counties: Butte, Colusa, Glenn, Humboldt, Lake, Lassen, Marin, Mendocino, Modoc, Napa, Nevada, Orange, Placer, Plumas, San Mateo, Santa Cruz, Shasta, Sierra, Siskiyou, Solano, Sonoma, Sutter, Tehama, Trinity, Yolo and Yuba;

Neighboring California counties: Alameda, Contra Costa, Del Norte, El Dorado, Los Angeles, Monterey, Riverside, Sacramento, San Benito, San Bernardino, San Diego, San Francisco and Santa Clara;

Neighboring Nevada counties: Carson City, Douglas and Washoe;

Neighboring Oregon counties: Jackson, Josephine, Klamath and Lake.

Exit mobile version